Butterflies in my Stomach


Image

It was a Saturday morning. 4-year-old Mini woke up feeling happy. No school today! And mom will also be home all day! They can chat, go shopping and do some painting together which is the favorite pastime for both Mini and her mom.

She got down from the bed rubbing her eyes and went straight to the kitchen where mom was preparing breakfast.

“G’morning mummy”, said Mini cheerfully.

“Good Morning, my princess. You look fresh!”

“It’s a Saturday. What are we planning to do today, mummy?”

“Whatever you say, honey. We can paint, go for some shopping and bake some cupcakes together. What do you say?”

“Super! It’s going to be a great day!!” Mini was over the clouds.

“Amm.. but to start with, we have an important appointment today, Mini.”

Mini was puzzled.

“Appointment? With whom?”

“With the doctor. It’s your vaccination day, honey.”

Hearing this, all the excitement vanished from Mini’s face. She became pale instantly. She was scared of doctors and injections, like every other kid of her age.

But she was brave too. She never cried. She always wanted to be like her mom who she has never seen crying. So Mini just went to her room, got ready and sat with her mom in the car.

Suddenly, there was some strange feeling inside her stomach. As if something was moving inside!

“Ouch! My tummy hurts!” cried Mini.

“What happened, Mini? I hope you aren’t hungry. You didn’t finish your milkshake,” asked the worried mother.

Mini said nothing.

At the doctor’s clinic, the thing inside her stomach moved faster.

“Mom, there’s something in here. I can feel.. feel.. something fluttering its wings inside my stomach,” Mini fought hard not to cry.

Mom knew what it must be. She said, “I know what it is. Does it feel like..like having.. ‘butterflies in the stomach’?”

Mini was surprised! How does mom know?

“Yes mummy, they are all over my stomach!!”

Image

Mom smiled and to Mini’s surprise, she started singing!

When you are nervous

About giving a test

Or scared to visit

A doctor you detest

They flutter their wings

Like a garden in springs

You say, O God, mummy

There are butterflies in my tummy

“I think we should go inside and end this suspense at once,” said mummy mischievously.

Mini squealed.

“Nooo mummy. I don’t want to go. I don’t want injections. They hurt!”

“But the doctor is not going to give you any injections. In fact, he’ll give you few drops of medicine to drink.”

“Really mom!!”

Whoa! The butterflies cannot be felt anymore! They are gone!

On their way back from the doctor’s clinic, Mini was very happy.

“Mummy, now I am certain, the day’s going to be great! I love Saturdays!”

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Butterflies in my Stomach

  1. Himani says:

    Superb. loved the poem the most, it almost sounded like a nice bubbly song to me. the story was very english in its style but somewhere i felt the a little confusion in mini’s age and dialogues….she sounded much older to me and very mature for the vaccination. Also because she already enjoys shopping…or may be it was in my head. Do consider taking a review on it.

Leave a Reply

